Published On: Tue, Jan 13th,

Ballon d’Or Award for Cristiano Ronaldo Named World Best Player


The Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo won the Ballon d’Or, Monday in Zurich. Portuguese outperformed its eternal rival Lionel Messi of Argentina and the German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, world champion in with the Mannschaft.

The statistics were the favorite, the votes have consecrated. Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo won, Monday, February 12, the third of his career Golden Ball. The Real Madrid star has collected 37.66% of the vote, far ahead of his Argentine rival Lionel Messi, second with 15.76% of votes, and the German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer (15.72%).

Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won the Champions League with Real Madrid scoring 17 goals (a record), was voted player of the year for the second consecutive time after 2008 and 2013. A large part due to title impressive statistics, including its 49 goals in La Liga in – an order count to 21 November, and which does not take account of a December but equally prolific.

Cristiano Ronaldo, 29, will therefore not suffered from the World-2014 missed his selection, eliminated in the first round and thrashed by Germany (4-0) of goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, beaten finalists of the evening.

If Neuer acted as an outsider, the defeat of Lionel Messi appeared inevitable revenge. Often diminished, Messi has not won any trophy with Barcelona in. A first for five seasons.

Not surprisingly, the three finalists for the Golden Ball were incorporated in Eleven of, referred to in the early evening in Zurich. For the eighth time in a row, Ronaldo and Messi were included in the selection made by thousands of professional footballers worldwide.

Germany has consistently been represented in numbers, since besides Neuer, two other world champions in with the Mannschaft were appointed: defender Philipp Lahm and midfielder Toni Kroos.

Two Spanish representatives Sergio Ramos and Andres Iniesta, complete the selection in the company of Brazilian defenders of Paris Saint-Germain Thiago Silva and David Luiz, as well as Argentina’s Angel Di Maria and the Dutchman Arjen Robben.

Note also that the Germany coach Joachim Loew has unsurprisingly won the price of coach of the year, the German VfL Wolfsburg Nadine Kessler was voted player of the year and that James Rodriguez won the Puskas Award for best goal for his shot marked the World Cup with Colombia against Uruguay.